Navy and Cream Greek Keys Wrap Dress – McCalls 6884

wpid-20150615_125450-1.jpg

McCalls 6884 is a TNT (tried and true) dress pattern. I decided to try my hand at View A after my first go of View B went so well. Thankfully this time went just as smoothly as the first.

wpid-20150427_205039.jpg

This navy and cream Greek keys jersey rayon spandex knit is from Girl Charlee. (FYI :Girl Charlee should be your go to place for knits!  You’ll thank me later.) This knit is super soft and light and has great stretch. I’m a sucker for navy and this fabric just screamed wrap dress to me. I chose View A this time simply because I had already sewn up View B. I was a concerned some about coverage as I wanted to wear this dress to work, but I think it slit is minimal. I again opted to omitted the sleeves as its predicted to be in the mid to high 90’s all week this week. A change I did make from my first attempt was adding the sash in the side seams per the pattern instructions. Many reviewers on Pattern Review stated that the tie placement was too high so I lowered them a tad and think it hit well, though I am highwaisted.

wpid-20150615_125457-1.jpg

 

All in all I love this dress, AGAIN! The only issue I have with this dress is the deep V. I stated this the first go around but forgot to address it during this second make. Next time, if I remember, I will add about a 1/2″ to the two front bodice pieces. It’s not terrible I just pin it.

wpid-20150615_125502-1.jpg

 

Pattern Description: Close-fitting, pullover, mock wrap dresses have right front variations, tie ends and narrow hems. C and D: gathered right front.

Pattern Sizing:  6-8-10-12-14 and14-16-18-20-22 I cut a 10 bodice, 12 skirt

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I think so.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were very easy to understand.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love a wrap dress so I loved that this pattern gave that look. The curved front wrap piece created a small slit which I like.

Fabric Used: Navy and cream Greek key jersey rayon spandex knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I omitted the sleeves from View A.

Would you sew it again? Yes I still want to make View D

Would you recommend it to others? Yes definitely

Conclusion: Great faux wrap dress that sews up quickly

Total Cost: $11.50

2 yds B&W ITY @ $5.75/yd = $11.50

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Ebi Poweigha says:

    What a pretty dress, and you look so pretty in it! Definitely a TNT. So many people love Girl Charlee, but I didn’ like any of the knits I got from them. Can you share some pointers on how to pick good fabrics on their site?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you Ebi. What did you order and why didn’t you like it?

      Like

      1. Ebi Poweigha says:

        I ordered some ponte and it was nice enough, but nothing special. However, it was the knit fabric I used for my pajama dress that really disappointed me. Also the knit used for my ‘love’ dress.

        Both were soft, technically, but they weren’t squishy and supple — they were kind of flat and a little bit stiff. I was so disappointed that I haven’t ordered from them since, despite how pretty their inventory is.

        Like

      2. frougiefashionista says:

        When I buy ponte online, especially solid ponte, it’s usually from Fabricmartfabrics.com. Give them a try.
        I really liked Girl Charlee’s rayon spandex, cotton spandex and rayon blend jersey knit. I though they were all soft. Though I am unsure of how this knit, a rayon spandex jersey, will wear.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. sewloveable says:

    You look great in your dress!!! Well done and wonderful fabric choice. You’re right Girl Charlee is a great site for knits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Annie says:

    It looks great on you. Very helpful review, too. Love that it’s a mock wrap. I am so over wrestling with wrap dresses! I may have to try this pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you Annie. I definitely recommend you give this pattern a try. I love it.

      Like

  4. Freshly Sewn says:

    This looks really good on you, and really well made!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you! 😆

      Like

What do you think?

