TBT – Deep Purple Cowl Neck Dress – Vogue 1250

I realize I haven’t posted a pattern review over a week. I’ve been busy launching TipStitched and attending the Fashion, Sewing and Style Conference so I haven’t been able to do much sewing for myself. I promise next week I’ll be posting some new garments as I’m itching to do some selfish sewing.

For now I’m going to share this throwback post inspired by the fact that I wore this dress yesterday and I was able to take slightly better pictures that I wanted to share. Keep reading for the original post and pattern review.

wpid-20150624_131215-1.jpg
Excuse the flats. I had my coworker take a pic on a lunch run. LOL

wpid-wp-1435200050887.jpeg


 

wpid-20150121_135336-1.jpg I’m not sure why I delayed sewing up this pattern for so long. It has several glowing reviews on Pattern Review. I’m glad I finally made it and I now know why everyone loves it.

First of all there are only three pattern pieces one front side piece, a neck band and one back piece. It sewed up sew quickly, though the pattern was a bit tricky to cut. Also I was a hate when patterns don’t list finished measurements.

Secondly it only takes 1-1/4 yds (up to a size 14 but a size 20 only requires 2 yds)! I’m always buying small yardage remnants because I find great deals on them. So this is a great pattern to use for those frougie finds!

In fact, this purple ITY or lycra knit is a remnant find from a local store for just $2.99 for 1.5yds. There’s not much more to say about this one. It’s a great timeless, flattering pattern.

wpid-20150121_134835-1.jpg

Pattern: Vogue 1250

Pattern Description: Close fitting drape neck pullover dress

Sizing: 8-16

Difficulty: 1

Fabric Used: Purple mystery (ITY/Rayon Lycra) knit remnant from a local store

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

Likes: I liked that it was only 3 pieces. I especially like the way the back seam fell.

Dislikes: I had a little issue with tapering at the bottom of the side dart but I just went back over that area again.

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: None

Would I sew it again? Yes, next time I want to try a printed fabric.

Would I recommend it to others? Yes I would.

Conclusion: This is a great dress that sews up quickly because and users so little yardage.

Total Cost: $2.99

1-1/4 yd  Purple knit remnant @ $2.99
image

One Comment Add yours

  1. Looking good TIp!!!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

