Striped Fitted Peplum Dress – McCalls 6886 modified

wpid-2015-08-11-10.57.45-1.jpg.jpeg

I wanted to bring you a quick piece as I know I haven’t posted in a while. I stumbled upon this look yesterday while looking for some sewing inspiration online. I needed something that I could sew up in an evening to have a post for today. As soon as I saw a Beaute J’adore’s Nautical Dress I knew I had found what I was looking for. First of all I love stripes and fitted dresses (although if I don’t get back on track they won’t love me). Secondly I quickly pictured the fabric and construction I needed to make a similar look.

wpid-2015-08-11-10.57.41-1.jpg.jpeg

As soon as I saw this dress I thought of this black and white striped textured ponte I had leftover from a previous project. I knew it would be perfect as is has good weight and great stretch.

wpid-2015-08-11-10.57.54-1.jpg.jpeg

I knew I could use M6886 for the base of this dress. I had to decide if I wanted to construct a circular hem based on the width of the dress hem or if I wanted to add a gathered strip fabric for the peplum. In order to keep the look of Beaute’s dress I decided to go with a gathered strip as this would ensure that the stripes on the peplum were vertical to the dress hem. I do think this was the best approach to mimic the original dress however I actually think I would have preferred the look of the circular hem.

wpid-2015-08-11-10.57.50-1.jpg.jpeg

I originally cut the neckline of A and the length of D as I was going for more of a midi look. That did NOT work. LOL. I had to go back and cut off about 5-6″ so the peplum would hit right at the knee. Even with my mishap this dress was definitely a quick sew as there are really just 5 seams (shoulders x2, side x2 and the peplum). This was only the second time I used my serger to gather and it was a breeze. Why did I wait so long to try it!!! My serger has come in so handy, I think I need a second one, but that’s different post for another day.

wpid-2015-08-10-10.29.20-1-1.jpg.jpeg

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Linda Lewis says:

    Very nice and summery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you! I hate that summer is halfway over.

      Like

  2. You can transition that to fall with a jacket or top/blouse underneath. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Excellent ideas. I need to sew a few cardigans.

      Like

  3. Abigail says:

    I love peplum and I love this dress!!! So cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you! I love peplum too.

      Like

  4. Ebi Poweigha says:

    Va-va voom!!!! Looking forward to your thoughts on having two sergers. I just got my first one, so now I’m paying more attention to what others do with theirs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you! I love my serger. I want to to keep one set up with black thread and one with white. Or have set up for regular serging and one for blind hemming.

      Like

What do you think?

