Plum Gathered Wrap Front Top – McCalls 7249

20151012_183348

I sewed up this top pattern, View A, as one of my two pieces my final Fabric Mart Fabricista Fashion Challenge entry. I chose it because loved the wrapped gathers. Gathers are always good in my book for camouflaging your least favorite areas, which for me is my midsection. Read more about my entry and this top in particular here. This post is simply a pattern review.

m7249

McCalls 7249 was a fairly easy sew, I only had to glance over the instructions. I love gathers but I don’t love gathering, though in this lightweight knit it wasn’t bad. This top is only three pattern pieces (four for the sleeved version) and calls for finished edges, self facings and some understitching. I finished all of my seams on my serger for a clean interior finish.

20151012_183442

Pattern: McCalls 7249

Pattern Description: close-fitting, pullover top or dress with gathered front overlay and narrow stitched hems

Sizing:6-14, 14-22

Difficulty: Easy

Fabric Used: Plum ITY knit from a local store

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? I they were straightforward.

Likes: Gathered wrap front

Dislikes: I don’t like that the front piece puckers beneath the bottom of the front overlay. That may be a sizing issue. I feel I should cut a size larger for the overlay or a size smaller for the front piece.

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: none

Would I sew it again? I think I might try the dress view

Would I recommend it to others? Yes, if you like the styling

Conclusion: A flattering top

20151012_183423

One Comment Add yours

  1. sewsincity says:

    Love the color of the top! I think I like it as a top more than the dress!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

