Camel Draped Collar Coat – Butterick 6244

IMG_1340

I made Butterick 6244 as one piece of my 3-Piece Wardrobe entry in the Fabric Mart Fabricista Challenge. Read more about my complete look here. In this post I’m simply going to share my review of the pattern and a link to my online shop if you would rather purchase this chic, comfy coat.

I’m pleased to announce that the Waterfall Coat is the latest addition to my TipStitched clothing line. It will be offered in both a wool blend (in camel, scarlet, mustard, sky blue, black and heather gray) and a vegan wool (in camel, scarlet, rust, heather gray, storm gray, olive, black, marsala, navy and chocolate ). Both versions are available in sizes S – XXL. Head on over to www.tipstitched.clothing to see the available colors!

For my sewists keep scrolling for my pattern review.IMG_1329

Pattern: Butterick 6244 View A

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, unlined coat (wrong side shows) has front extending into collar, flat-fell seams, narrow hem, and shaped front hemline longer than back.

Sizing: 8-16, 18W-24W

Difficulty: Easy (Beginner without the flat fell seams)

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes, especially since it’s the same color

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy to follow. The only partially tricky part is the sewing the collar .

Likes: Simple coat/jacket that make a bold statement. Full coat that takes just 2 -1/2 yds. Unlined

Dislikes: No pockets. I think I’ll add some next time.

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: None

Would I sew it again? Yes!! I plan to make a wool version, maybe a plaid.

Would I recommend it to others? Yes, it is a quick sew

Conclusion: A great open front coat pattern for a fall or winter day.

IMG_1350

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice! Beautiful colour and the style is my favourite! I love draped clothes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thank you

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

