Am I crazy?!

I just entered the Wardrobe Suduko Contest over at Pattern Review. YAY! I’ve entered a couple of other Pattern Review contest (I even won one!) and I think they can be a fun way to challenge yourself and stick to a deadline.

First of all I should say I love Pattern Review, it’s a great place for all things sewing related; pattern reviews, machine reviews, pattern releases announcements, contest and classes. If you don’t already know about Pattern Review, check it out!

Okay back to the contest, when I say I entered, I mean I’ve done absolutely nothing except decide I want to submit an entry. I am intrigued by this contest because I had never heard of a Suduko wardrobe. However, when I read the contest rules I thought “How cool?!” Maybe that’s because I’m a puzzle/brain teaser kind of person.

Wardrobe planning is like a game of Sudoku – making that skirt work with that top- but then which shoes will match?!? 

The principal is pretty straightforward: 4 Tops, 4 Bottoms, 4 Accessories, 4 Footwear

These 16 items fit in a 4 x 4 grid. EACH row – up and down, across, and diagonally – must “work with” or “coordinate with each other”. This will result in at least 10 combinations.

Here is an example I found on Su Sews So So. Notice how each row (horizontal, vertical and diagonal) create an outfit. I’d argue that each quadrant contains or could contain an outfit as well.

Style Sudoku - Holiday 1

Though these contests are usually 1 month in duration, this is a two month contest because 10 pieces need to be sewn. That’s right TEN!!! To read all the rules head on over to Pattern Review’s contest page and click on discuss!

I think this contest will be a great way to ensure that I sew a cohesive spring wardrobe. I am going to try my best to also use this challenge as a stash buster. Hopefully I have enough fabrics in my stash that can work well with each other to create a cohesive collection. Planning is going to be key here. I have to have a game plan in place before February 1st. So I guess I know what I’ll be doing this weekend!

I’m sew excited, but 10 pieces in 8 weeks is a lofty goal!!! AM I CRAZY?!?! Do you visit Pattern Review? Are you going to join this contest? Had you heard of Suduko wardrobe?

18 Comments Add yours

  1. char83 says:

    You are not crazy. I did consider enter in the contest, but decided against it because 10 items in two months may be a bit too stressful for me. Good luck with your Sudoku wardrobe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Thanks! I might drive myself crazy. We’ll see. LOL

      Like

  2. shoes15 says:

    I am planning to enter. But the first project I am going to do is a complex jacket. So we’ll see. It’s a fun idea anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      It’s does seem like a fun challenge!

      Like

    2. frougiefashionista says:

      I can’t decide whether to knock it the simple stuff first or start with the hard projects.

      Like

  3. shoes15 says:

    I am doing the hard and “new to me” patterns first. These are the things I want or need most for my wardrobe. At the end I can knock off some quick tops and TNT pants. Also, I don’t want to make anything for a contest just for the sake of the contest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      True. I’m still on the planning phase. I love sewing dress but dress so work the best with this challenge. I do NEED more seperates though. So this will force me to make them.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I may Ben joining you on this craziness! I don’t think I’ll really have time, but I also really want to participate, so I’ll figure out how to make it work. Good luck with your planning – it’s work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      It’s sure it’s I’m still tweaking. I came up with a few options.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. tea4anita says:

    I think this sounds like so much fun. I love the whole concept. Su Sews So So did a fantastic job, and I agree with you that there are definitely more outfits within the quadrants. I spotted 6 additional outfits.

    I think this is GREAT for you to be a part of, so no, you’re not crazy. You’re about to add a good number of pieces to your wardrobe and have fun doing it.

    I’m really looking forward to following along. Have fun with it and best wishes to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      You should definitely enter! The idea of having a whole wardrobe is appealing. I usually just sew what catches my eye.

      Like

  6. Thimberlina says:

    Only a bit crazy! Good luck, I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up, 10 items in a couple of months, time to get focussed! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. frougiefashionista says:

      Yup today is my self imposed deadline to finalize my pattern and fabric picks.

      Like

What do you think?

