New Favorite Wrap Bodice Dress: New Look 6301

20170807_103800

I love wrap dresses, preferably true wrap dress but the faux wrap bodices work as well. I’ve sewn a few; Butterick 5950( in leopard and again in stripes), McCalls 6884, and M7119  (which was even reversible), but I think I feel safe in stating that New Look 6301 is my new fave wrap bodice dress!

NL6301close

This title was previously held by Butterick 5950, which I still love, but has slipped to number 2. Simple things give NL6301 an edge, like the neckband. Sewing a narrow hem on a lightweight ITY can be frustrating and personally I feel that bands can look more professional. I also love that there are so many options including two skirt options (swing and pleated fitted) and 4 sleeve options (sleeveless, short, three quarter and gathered).

20170807_103735

I chose to sew View A because I had about 2 1/2 yards of this abstract leaf fabric left over from Cold Shoulder Dress I made a few months ago. I’m thrilled that I was able to get two great projects from a 4 yard precut piece I purchased from Fabric Mart.

NL6301right

The instructions were very clear. I did cut out the wrap front bodice in reverse, but that was user (sewer?) error. If I had used a heavier lycra or ponte I would’ve added the elastic at the waist, due to the lightweight of this  ITY I didn’t feel it necessary and I omitted it. The only thing I don’t love about this fabric is side ties, they are too short. I would prefer to wrap them around my body to tie not just to the back or to the front. Next time I will lengthened them, easy fix.

NL6301backcross

If you couldn’t tell I love this dress, I LOVE this dress!

Pattern:  New Look 6301

Pattern Description: Comfortable, stylish and figure flattering mock wrap knit dress has slim or flared skirt, several sleeve options and a tie worn front or back.

Sizing: 8-20 I sewed a 14

Difficulty: 2/easy

Fabric Used: Abstract Leaf ITY

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very

Likes:  Wrap bodice, side ties, neck bands, tons of options

Dislikes: Short waist ties.

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: I omitted the elastic waist.

Would I sew it again? Yes, I want to make the pleated straight skirt version.

Would I recommend it to others? Definitely.

Conclusion: Great wrap bodice knit dress

20170807_103728

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Loving you in this dress! You have inspired me to try this pattern. Have never had much luck with wrap dresses–hoping this will be the “holy grail”.

    Like

    1. TipStitched says:

      I hope so too. It worked really well for me,

      Like

  2. sewtonya says:

    This is cute! I love the print. I’m a sucker for black and white

    Like

What do you think?

