Floral Denim V-Back Dress: Closet Case Fiona

TS_Fiona_FrontGrass_web

To say I was thrilled to be selected to test for this latest Closet Case pattern is an understatement. I know they have a huge following and I’m sure the application pool was filled with amazing sewists. I mean who doesn’t love Closet Case? My first “real” me-made coat was the Clare Coat, which I just love. I also own the famous Ginger Jeans pattern, though I haven’t built up the confidence to make my own jeans quite yet.

Fiona Sundress Pattern Envelope //  Summer dress pattern with two bodice and three skirt options // Closet Case Patterns

This post is all about the just released Fiona Dress Pattern!!! If you follow me you know just how excited I was to test because I actually sewed 15 buttonholes and you know I hate them. I actually finished this dress a few weeks ago and it has been just torture to keep it under wraps. I love it so much!

Fiona Sundress Pattern Technical flats //  Summer dress pattern with two bodice and three skirt options // Closet Case Patterns

Y’all know I love a pattern with options and the Fiona Dress provides a two bodice backs (full and open back) and 3 skirt lengths (above the knee, knee and midi). It also features front patch pockets and you know how I feel about dresses with pockets, LOVE! The criss-cross straps of the deep V back called me and I planned to balance that with the knee length skirt. However once I tested the fit I felt it was too long for the sassy back and I shortened it to the above the knee length.

TS_Fiona_OTS_web

If you’ve sewn a Closet Case pattern then you already know that their garments are not the simplest to construct but their instructions are extremely clear and thorough. Each step is clearly explained and the illustrations walk you through. I graded between three sizes (14 bust, 16 waist, 18 hip*) based on my body measurements the fit was spot on. It’s typical for me to grade sizes for woven fitted dresses and bodysuits since my body refuses to adhere to anyone’s sizing. LOL

*Heather at Closet Case took all of the feedback into consideration and added 1″ to the hip measurement of the larger sizes, so I could probably get away with 16 waist and hips.

TS_Fiona_RightSide_web

Denim, twill , linen, poplin or chambray are the suggested fabrics for the Fiona. I had just enough of this rose printed denim from Fabric Mart left over from my Simplicity 8264 make last year. (I’ve never worn that dress and think I might sell it. Is anyone interested in buying items from my closet?) It’s a mid weight denim with no stretch and it worked well for this project.

20180627_100824.jpg

The only variation I made in the construction of the dress was lining the bodice. Since I chose to sew the open back bodice it meant going braless and there’s no way that I wanted skin-to-denim contact. I needed something with a little weight to it to match the weight of the denim, so I used the same satin I used to line my Clare Coat for the bodice lining. Initially I was only going to line the front but went ahead and did the back as well. To reduce the bulk in the button placket I cut the front bodice piece a little short of the fold line but the rest was constructed exactly the same. This definitely makes for a more comfortable wear.

TS_Fiona_FrontPocket_web

Can someone please share your favorite button suppliers? Because Joann is extremely limited. Though the color is spot on for the pop I was looking for these plastic magenta buttons aren’t worthy to be on my super cute dress.

20180627_100857.jpg

Fiona is available now from Closet Case! The printed patterns are on presale and should ship in July according to their site. I’d take advantage of the presale because I’m sure this pattern will sell out! but the pdf pattern is ready to download

Pattern:  Closet Case Fiona Sundress

Pattern Description: a fitted button-up sundress with shoulder straps, princess seams, a straight cut skirt and fetching topstitched details. View A features a bra-friendly bodice and midi length skirt with side slits. View B features crossed straps and a low back, with a mini or below knee length skirt. All skirts and bodices are completely interchangeable so you can mix and match the Fiona of your dreams.

Sizing: 0-20

Difficulty: 3/ Intermediate

Fabric Used: Floral printed denim from Fabric Mart (sold out) Similiar here, here and here

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they have excellent instructions!

Likes:  Fitted dress, open back, multiple views and patch pockets

Dislikes: Buttonholes!!!! LOL but they were worth it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: I added a bodice.

Would I sew it again? Yes, I think I need the longer view in linen.

Would I recommend it to others? Definitely

Conclusion: A statement sundress.

9 responses to “Floral Denim V-Back Dress: Closet Case Fiona”

  1. I love your make, and I want this pattern so bad, but there are too many buttons. LOL I know me, and I get too impatient and they won’t end up lining up correctly.

    Like

    1. LOL I hate buttonholes so I get it. What about snaps?

      Like

  2. […] you’ve already read or seen my version of the Closet Case Fiona Sundress. I love this dress and am so happy I was selected to test it.  […]

    Like

  3. […] Seersucker Spring Break Shorts by ModKid 11. Essential Summer Tank: Street Style Curve Hem Tank 12. Floral Denim V-Back Dress: Closet Case Fiona Sundress 13. Mermaid Maxi by Tie Dye Diva 14. Eden Jumpsuit by Designer Stitch 15. I Can Make That! Border […]

    Like

  4. […] knew I had to test it! It reminded me of a girls version of the Fiona Sundress I recently tested (here) for Closet Case Patterns. Since Miss Socialite still loves twinning, I wanted to make this dress […]

    Like

  5. […] love Closet Case Patterns! So far I’ve made two of their patterns, the Clare Coat and Fiona Sundress both of which I love. I can now add a third pattern to that list! I had the opportunity to test […]

    Like

  6. […] Trousers – If you follow me you know I’ve tested the last two Closet Case patters (the Fiona and Amy) and I loved them both. Since I’ve had such great success with those I decided this […]

    Like

  7. […] Floral Denim V-Back Dress: Closet Case Fiona […]

    Like

  8. […] views are almost identical to Closet Case’s Fiona dress, which I already own and have made, here ! They don’t have a skirt “view” but you could easily create just the skirt by […]

    Like

What do you think?