Twinning: ModKid Sage

As soon as I saw the tester call for this Sage Dress by ModKid I knew I had to test it! It reminded me of a girls version of the Fiona Sundress I recently tested (here) for Closet Case Patterns. Since Miss Socialite still loves twinning, I wanted to make this dress for her.

Untitled-1

The floral print denim I used for my Fiona dress was leftover from a project I sewed last year, so I couldn’t get my hands on anymore…BUT I remembered seeing a very similar print at Joann (here) earlier this summer. I had to travel to two stores to find enough for this dress, but I’m happy I did. This fabric was a better choice than the denim I used for my dress as this denim is more lightweight almost like a tencel (it’s 62% cotton, 38% lyocell) so it was softer to the touch.

Since this was a “twinning” project I decided to sew View A with the cross straps from View C/D to most closely mimic a mini (age appropriate) version of the Fiona Sundress I’d made for myself.

Sage_OTSgreen

Unfortunately I did have some issues with this dress, which really surprised me as I’ve had no issues with other ModKid patterns (Leilani Romper, Wren Dress and Spring Break Shorts). Miss Socialite was in between sizes to start off with so I graded from a 14 chest to 12 waist back to a 14 hips which isn’t an issue because I have to do that for myself. My biggest issue was needing to shorten the bodice by 1.5″, it simply fell too low almost drop waist low (this also meant shortening the button band). The straps were also too long and the placement was off , no worries though as the final released pattern was adjusted based on the testers feedback. I think I should have cut a straight 12 bodice and graded to a 14 hip, but that my sizing issue and not a pattern issue.

Sage_Blow2

All that said I am pleased with the final version, though next time I’ll sew the straight straps to eliminate the puckering in mine. I love the fact that this can transition into fall by layering it over a tee shirt and/or leggings.

Sage_throw

I should also mention I didn’t line my version but if you did, it would be possible to make the dress totally reversible! You’d just have to work with the skirt hem and maybe eliminate the pockets. Actually the non peplum top version is designed to be fully reversible so have fun with that!

Order your Sage Dress before Midnight Sunday (8/19/2018) and save 40%! Just use the code BTS2018 for 40% off your total purchase… not just the Sage.

Pattern: ModKid Sage Dress/Top

Pattern Description:slim-fitting dress, jumper, crop top or peplum top with a straight-across neckline style, straight or crossed shoulder straps, side seam pockets, and button or snap closure.

Sizing: 10-18 I sewed a 14/12

Difficulty: 2/easy depending the view

Fabric Used: Floral denim from Joann

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were clear

Likes:  Cute dress that can be worn all year (just layer or use warmer fabric…think corduroy)

Dislikes: Bodice length

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: Shortened bodice by 1/5 inches, moved and shortened shoulder straps.

Would I sew it again? Maybe

Would I recommend it to others? Yes

4 responses to “Twinning: ModKid Sage”

  1. I LOVE that you make matching outfits! So beautiful! I also love your fabric choice!
    Also, check out my latest post. I am doing a giveaway for vintage-style patterns. Please spread the word! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Thanks. I’ll check it out.

      Like

  2. […] A twinning look Floral Denim V-Back Dress: Closet Case Fiona and Twinning: ModKid Sage […]

    Like

What do you think?