Transitional Jumpsuit: Closet Case Amy

I love Closet Case Patterns! So far I’ve made two of their patterns, the Clare Coat and Fiona Sundress both of which I love. I can now add a third pattern to that list! I had the opportunity to test their latest release the Amy Jumpsuit and it didn’t disappoint!

Amy Jumpsuit Pattern // Closet Case Patterns

The Amy Jumpsuit features a v neck and back, wide shoulder straps for bra coverage, a body skimming bodice, wide cropped pants, inseam pockets and a side zipper.

You already know I love a jumpsuit and this one is truly a winner! First of all I love the silhouette. It’s comfortable and roomy without being big and baggy. I wore this to a Labor Day cookout and let me just say I munched all day and had a few (re:several) drinks and was comfortable ALL day! It’s the perfect look to hide a food baby belly! You can also add an tie belt to show of your waist for those non-food related events.

CCAmy-back

I love the fact that the straps are wide enough and placed just right to hide bra straps! McCalls 7755 is a great jumpsuit that can offer the same belly camouflage (I’ve made twice here and here), but it requires either going braless, wearing a strapless or bandeau bra or making the bra part of your outfit.

CCAmy-side

As an added bonus there are inseam pockets, which of course you can omit – BUT WHY WOULD YOU??? They are large enough to hold my Samsung Note 8 which is all I need some days.

Heather wanted to get the pattern out in time to take advantage of the end of summer, but I see myself wearing this into fall. I live in the south so I still have weeks of warm weather left, but even after the temps begin to drop I see myself throwing on a denim jacket or a cardigan and some ankle booties and still rocking this look.

CCAmy-lean

My fabric is from a local fabric store and I’m not sure what it is but I’m guessing it’s a polyester. It has a slinky feel and nice drape which works well for this pattern that can work with anything from a flow-y challis to a crisp linen.

Heather and her team made a couple changes to the pattern as a result of the testing feedback. The first was raising the bust darts and the second was adding the optional tie belt.

The Amy Jumpsuit is available only as a PDF download. Order yours NOW!

Pattern: Closet Case Amy Jumpsuit

Pattern Description:The Amy Jumpsuit is comfort and breezy elegance all in one tidy, minimalist package. With a figure-skimming silhouette and ultra wide, cropped legs, it’s got the soul of a floaty slip dress in the body of a jumpsuit you’ll never want to take off.

Sizing: 0-20 I sewed a 16

Difficulty: 3-Advanced Begineer

Fabric Used: Dark navy blue and tan print polyester?

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

Likes: bra concealing straps, v neck, pockets, wide cropped les

Dislikes: None

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: None

Would I sew it again? Yes, I need several.

Would I recommend it to others? Definitely.

Conclusion: Perfect jumpsuit to transition into fall.

9 responses to “Transitional Jumpsuit: Closet Case Amy”

  1. Love the way this turned out! I couldn’t have looked at that fabric and imagined it’d turn out as great as it did, and you got the perfect fit. Well done! I can totally imagine wearing a piece like this into fall, just as you described. Gotta find the time to make myself a version.

    Like

  2. Love the way this turned out! I couldn’t have looked at that fabric and imagined it’d turn out as great as it did, and you got the perfect fit. Well done! I can totally imagine wearing a piece like this into fall, just as you described. Gotta find the time to make myself a version.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I love prints but this was a busy one. I’m so glad it turned out like what I pictured on my mind. You should definitely make one! Or more!

      Like

  3. […] – If you follow me you know I’ve tested the last two Closet Case patters (the Fiona and Amy) and I loved them both. Since I’ve had such great success with those I decided this was a […]

    Like

  4. […] Transitional Jumpsuit: Closet Case Amy […]

    Like

  5. […] that the sewing community is excited about this one. I like it but it’s not a must have, the Closet Case Amy jumpsuit that I tested is close to the silhouette of View C which is my favorite. The Amy jumpsuit is also […]

    Like

  6. I’m tempted to try this pattern but tell me – how do you get in and out of it (especially in a hurry- if you know what I mean 😀) with only a side zip. I’d be worrying about ripping the neckline trying to get it down over my shoulders. I’m a size 18/20 and have swimmer’s shoulders.

    Like

    1. I don’t have any problems!

      Like

  7. […] fabric was also a remnant left over from my Amy Jumpsuit, see it here. I’ve been trying to put a serious dent in my stash while I’m sheltering in place. […]

    Like

What do you think?