Little Purple Dress: Kommatia Beatnik

Kommatia Patterns has done it again! Here is another must have dress The Beatnik. I had to opportunity to pattern test this dress and I’m very pleased with it.

Kommatia-Beatnik

The Beatnik is a bodycon dress that features a high neck and cap sleeves. It includes three lengths; mini, knee and midi. This pattern definitely requires a heftier knit for the collar to stand up. Ponte, scuba or any double knit are suggested, but stretch velvet would be gorgeous as well.

BeatnickHair

Although I knew the Beatnik would make a really great LBD, I decided to use this purple scuba knit that I’ve had in my stash for about a year. I can’t remember what I originally purchased it for but I’m so glad I used it for this dress. I love this deep eggplant shade, it’s perfect for fall and winter. Initially I had planned to make the midi version, but I actually only had enough fabric to sew the knee length. A black midi version is in my near immediate future!

BeatnikOTS

This dress is very versatile. Wear it with socks and sneakers or tights and heels. It would be great in the colder months paired with boots or booties. Add layers with moto jacket or boyfriend blazer or accessorize with a scarf or long necklace. This dress can go almost anywhere.

BeatnikQtr

I’m hot-natured so the mock neck is enough to make this a fall/winter dress for me especially paired with tights and/or a jacket. However the cap sleeves could easily be extended to elbow, three-quarter or full length for more warmth.

BeatnikBack

This pattern is 50% off right now, so go ahead and grab yours HERE! Kommatia has recently added new features to their pdf patterns including US sizing (2-18), layered pdf and A0 format for copyshop printing.

Pattern: Kommatia Beatnik

Pattern Description: designed to let your creativity take over – little black dress or not, its simple cut will suit both plain colors and bold prints. A quick and easy make, its fitted silhouette simply features a high neck and cap sleeves. Leather jacket or blazer, high heels or trainers, there are no rules!

Sizing:  2-18 I sewed a 16

Difficulty: 1/beginner

Fabric Used: Eggplant scuba knit from Fine Fabrics (Norcross, GA)

Does it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very

Likes:  bodycon dress, easy, mock turtle neck

Dislikes: None.

Pattern alterations or any design changes made: None

Would I sew it again? Yes, I think I want a black midi version and maybe a red one as well.

Would I recommend it to others? Certainly

Conclusion: Easy fall dress pattern

3 responses to “Little Purple Dress: Kommatia Beatnik”

  1. This color looks amazing on you! What a great pattern! 🙂

    Like

  2. […] love their patterns. See my Alice Dress, Ferri Bodysuit, Harry Dress, Beatnik Dress, and Cannes […]

    Like

What do you think?